2023 Winners

2023 William Faulkner Literary Competition Winners



Winner    Arkansas Black
Alexander Blevens
Ocean Springs, MS

Honorable Mention    Betrayal of Blood
Feotis Moore
Bloomington, IL

Honorable Mention    The Devil’s Jazz
Vincent B. “Chip” Lococo
New Orleans, LA

Short Story:

1st “Go Gentle into that Night”
Mark J. Havlik
Indian Land, SC

2nd    “Duty Above All”
Mal King
Santa Paula, CA

3rd     “The Pet Shop”
Elizabeth Danek
Milwaukie, OR

Honorable Mention     “The Cats of Kotor”
Cindy McCraw Dircks
Larchmont, NY

Honorable Mention     “Jesus Loves Kabobs”
Catherine Padmore
Hurstbridge, VIC, Australia

One Act Play:

1st    “300 Miles West”
Jeff Carter
San Francisco, CA

2nd    “The Hepburn Interview”
Tom Mason
Portland, OR

3rd    “Mab’s Rabbit”
Brenda Kenworthy
Garden Grove, CA

Honorable Mention    “An Atheists Prayer”
Tom Parks
Midland, TX

Honorable Mention    “An Untethered Woman”
Cynthia Webb
Helena, MT

Honorable Mention    “The Italian Wives Club”
Kenneth Robbins
Ruston, LA


1st    “Ode to Mississippi Girlhood”
Alecia Gabrielle
Jackson, MS

2nd    “A Whispered Tour”
Leonardo Chung
Ottawa, IL

3rd    “Saturday Matinees”
Howard Brown
Lookout Mountain, TN

Honorable Mention    “HM America”
Keith Carreiro
Swansea, MA

Student Short Story:

1st    “The Second Dorie Lovett”
Sharlee Shumpert
Mooreville, MS

2nd    “Mr. Black”
Joshua Clark
Vardaman, MS

3rd    “A Journal in my Attic”
Ava Lambert
Silver Creek, MS

Honorable Mention    “The Hunt”
Jack Denton
Ingomar, MS

Honorable Mention    “Trek to Luka”
Jackson Robbins
Ingomar, MS

Honorable Mention    “The Royal Tea Party”
Miles Blackburn
New Albany, MS